Jackson State University Shines!

TORRANCE,  Calif., April 11, 2018 /PRNewswire/ -- Jackson State University earned top honors and a $75,000 institutional grant at the 29th annual Honda  Campus All-Star Challenge (HCASC) National Championship Tournament, a  one-of-a-kind competition that celebrates HBCU academic excellence. In  pursuit of the championship title, Jackson State University’ steam  surpassed its fellow competitors in a display of academic prowess,  teamwork, and mastery of game strategies. More than 20 HBCU presidents  showed their support by attending the HCASC National Championship  playoffs on April 10 at the American Honda Motor Co., Inc. campus  in Torrance, California.

Jackson State University earned top honors and a $75,000 institutional grant at the 29th annual  Honda Campus All-Star Challenge (HCASC) National Championship  Tournament, a one-of-a-kind competition that celebrates HBCU academic  excellence.

Winning  a best two-out-of-three game series against Spelman College, the  students from Jackson State University exhibited their academic talents  by accurately answering questions about history, science, literature,  religion, the arts and pop culture. The spirited competition brought  together a packed studio audience consisting of HBCU students, school presidents, HCASC alumni, volunteers, and Honda associates. This is the  second time Jackson State University has won the Honda Campus All-Star Challenge.

The  winning team was coached by Joshua J. Cotton and includes Justin Clarke, James Meeks Jr., Charles Pennington, and team captain, Zaveon Cooper II.

"Participating  in a competition like HCASC is a good experience because it truly puts  you up against the best and brightest students from each school,  allowing you to challenge yourself and think critically," said Zaveon  Cooper II. "The journey to winning the championship was long and hard.  After not making it to the National Championship Tournament last year,  we had all of our members return, and we were very motivated to not make  the same mistake."


Runner-up Spelman  College earned a $30,000 grant, while the third and fourth place  finishers – Morehouse College and Oakwood University –  earned $20,000 each.

Torrez Harris

Torrez Harris

Want to know more about Torrez Harris? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on Hallelujah 95.5! Read more


Content Goes Here